Miscellaneous Category > Personal Information and Personal Events
Purchased from www.AliExpress.com EDIT : Electronics items looks fake
amitk26:
EDIT : After Dr. Rajesh mentioned about Canon EOS 1D I did some more search , it seems that electronics on these sites are full of fake stuff from china. Still I just wonder how Canon EOS 5D MK2 fake works it is just for 513$
But generic plastic ,leather , metal items should be OK ,
Since I ordered a leather watch display box I was happy.
So be very careful and do not buy any item where some brand is involved
OLD review
=============
Hi,
Opening this thread for providing feedback and my positive experience about shopping website www.Aliexpress.com.
This is retail version of B2B site www.alibaba.com , I got to know about Alibaba from their booth at CEBIT 2010 in Hanover. They are a B2B website with suppliers from China and few from other countries like India , Malaysia etc. but minimum quantities are in order of 1000s so not for retail buyers. Aliexpress is geared towards retail customers.
Recently I ordered a 12 watch display case for storage of my collection of wrist watches , This kind of box was not available locally and in e-bay it was listed in e-bay US and the shipping cost was a killer. Ordered it on Aliexpress and received the box with in 1 week the supplier was from China.
Originally he provided DHL as a shipping option ( free shipping) but after receiving order he got to know that DHL shipping cost itself is 50$ where as the sale price was 52$ so shipped it by Aramax and I received it in time.
One good feature about Aliexpress is that once you place the order a timer of 5 days starts and if seller does not update shipping information within 5 days the deal gets canceled automatically and money transfer does not happen. After shipping update one more timer of 30 days starts and if buyer does not confirm the receipt of the article the money is automatically refunded.
There are various interesting photographic equipment suppliers as well so this is can be an alternative source apart from e-bay and www.dealextreme.com.
Regards
lightwave:
I see 1Ds MkIII listed for 800-900 USD. -_- ... seems a little strange.
amitk26:
Treading with caution is required sellers are individuals usual using platform.
There is a catagory fullfilled by aliexpress,which seems safer.
What I liked about them was automatic cancellation in case of no update.
Ashish Desai:
--- Quote from: lightwave on March 18, 2011, 02:21:19 AM ---I see 1Ds MkIII listed for 800-900 USD. -_- ... seems a little strange.
--- End quote ---
@ lightwave sir,
Yeah and I see the Canon 1D mark IV for 418.15 $ along with 3 years warranty. :o :o. OMG are they going to give these DSLR's are such a cheap price ????
http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm/430236876-Exempt-freight-NEW-Canon-EOS-1D-Mark-IV-PRO-Body-Canon-LP-E4-Battery-3-years-wholesalers.html
Anyone who has lots of spare money willing to experiment by placing an order :P ?
What does exempt freight and duty free mean ? They won't attract custom duty and shipping ?
The offers are indeed very luring, doesn't all that sound too fishy ?
I would love to hear from people who had good experience with purchases here.
amitk26:
OMG I never looked at these before else would have been scared to order anything. I have modified the opening thread accordingly may be I was plain lucky.
See this Brandon has purchased 2 ;D
http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm/429446728-Exempt-freight-Canon-EOS-5D-Mark-II-Body-Canon-70-300mm-f-4-0-L-duty-wholesalers.html#transaction-history
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
Go to full version